There are three distinct photographic collections at the Getty Center, with a variety of ways to access material and make research appointments.
Please use this research guide along with the Library Catalog to identify collections of interest.
Significant portions of some collections are freely available online. If no digital surrogate exists, you are welcome to visit our library to access the archives.
Appointments in the Special Collections Reading Room are required to view Special Collections materials. Make sure to contact us well in advance of your intended visit to reserve a seat in the Special Collections Reading Room. Please read the Library and Special Collections use policies.
Photo Archive
The Library's Photo Archive includes over two million photographs offering supplementary and original pictorial research for the study of fine and decorative arts from antiquity to the modern period. The archive's strength lies in the photographic reproduction of western art, architecture, and decorative arts and often includes accompanying historiographic documentation. Researchers can use these photographs to conduct a wide range of research topics, including the history of collecting (provenance, art market, connoisseurship), iconography, conservation, historiography, and art and architecture photography.
One million of the photographs are in the open stacks of the Library in easy to browse sections including ancient art and architecture, medieval art and architecture, and renaissance to modern up to 1945. Researchers can learn more and access a searchable database at Photo Archive page.
Photographs in the Museum's collection that are not on display are available for viewing in the Photographs Study Room, which is open by appointment on Tuesdays and Wednesdays to researchers, students, and the interested public. For collection highlights, exhibitions, acquisitions, and information visit the Photographs Study Room information page.
Please note: The photographs you wish to examine may be on loan and not available for viewing. Large scale and highly light sensitive objects may not be available due to conservation concerns. Before making an appointment, please make sure to contact the Department of Photographs to discuss your area of interest.
To make an appointment: Please contact the Department of Photographs at least two weeks in advance of your desired visit to request an appointment. Call (310) 440-6589 or e-mail photographs@getty.edu.
The Study Room is closed the week between Christmas Day and New Year's Day.