![Lewis W. Hine, photographer (American, 1874 - 1940), [Newsboys (High School Route Boys), New Haven, Connecticut], American, March 1909, Gelatin silver print, 11.7 × 16.9 cm (4 5/8 × 6 5/8 in.), 84.XM.132.35.](https://d2jv02qf7xgjwx.cloudfront.net/accounts/55564/images/Hine.jpg)
Access to subscription digital resources is available to on-site readers, Getty staff and scholars via Getty OneID login, and registered Getty Readers with authorized EZproxy access unless otherwise noted.
The Library does not have direct subscriptions to newspaper websites like latimes.com or nytimes.com. Instead, we access third-party newspaper databases that license articles from these publishers. These archives offer extensive coverage and advanced search options. They are typically updated daily though they may lack accompanying images.
Lewis W. Hine, photographer (American, 1874 - 1940), [Newsboys (High School Route Boys), New Haven, Connecticut], American, March 1909, Gelatin silver print, 11.7 × 16.9 cm (4 5/8 × 6 5/8 in.), 84.XM.132.35. Digital image courtesy of Getty’s Open Content Program.
British Library Newspapers | 1714-1950
Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years..
Catalog Permalink | http://primo.getty.edu/GRI:GETTY_ALMA61259591420001551
Chicago Tribune |1985-Current
The Chicago Tribune is accessible through US Major Dailies via ProQuest.
Catalog Permalink | https://primo.getty.edu/permalink/f/19q6gmb/GETTY_ALMA51205279150001551
Christian Science Monitor |1988-Current
The Christian Science Monitor is accessible via ProQuest.
Catalog Permalink | https://primo.getty.edu/permalink/f/19q6gmb/GETTY_ALMA51148171920001551
The Library does not have a digital subscription to latimes.com.
Access from 1881 to present day available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers and U.S. Major Dailies.
Print issues for current week available in Plaza Reading Room.
Los Angeles Times | 1881-1999
The Los Angeles Times from 1881-1999 is accessible through ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Catalog Permalink | https://primo.getty.edu/permalink/f/19q6gmb/GETTY_ALMA51148580470001551
Los Angeles Times | 1985-Current
The Los Angeles Times from 1985 to the present is accessible through US Major Dailies via ProQuest.
Catalog Permalink | https://primo.getty.edu/permalink/f/19q6gmb/GETTY_ALMA51148580470001551
The Library does not have a digital subscription to nytimes.com.
Access from 1851 to present day available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers and U.S. Major Dailies.
Print issues for current week available in Plaza Reading Room.
New York Times | 1851-2020
The New York Times from 1851-2020 is accessible via ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
Catalog Permalink | https://primo.getty.edu/permalink/f/19q6gmb/GETTY_ALMA51198077220001551
New York Times | 1980-Current
The New York Times from 1980 to the present is accessible through US Major Dailies via ProQuest.
Catalog Permalink | https://primo.getty.edu/permalink/f/19q6gmb/GETTY_ALMA51198077220001551
The Times (London) |1985-2019
The Times is accessible through the Times Digital Archive via Gale.
Catalog Permalink | https://primo.getty.edu/permalink/f/19q6gmb/GETTY_ALMA61176649460001551
The Library does not have a digital subscription to wsj.com.
Access from 1984 to present day available through U.S. Major Dailies.
Print issues for current week available in Plaza Reading Room.
The Wall Street Journal |1984-Current
The Wall Street Journal is accessible through US Major Dailies via ProQuest.
Catalog Permalink | https://primo.getty.edu/permalink/f/19q6gmb/GETTY_ALMA51154818630001551
The Washington Post |1987-Current
The Washington Post is accessible through US Major Dailies via ProQuest.
Catalog Permalink | https://primo.getty.edu/permalink/f/19q6gmb/GETTY_ALMA51148182750001551
African American Newspapers | 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world. Titles in Series 1 come from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, while titles in Series 2 come from the American Antiquarian Society, Center for Research Libraries, the Library of Congress, and New York Public Library.
Frequency | Updated Monthly
Catalog Permalink | http://primo.getty.edu/GRI:GETTY_ALMA51188698230001551
Eight Centuries
Alternative Name(s) 19th Century Masterfile Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Eight Centuries is a vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1930. Through enhancement and implementation of dozens of historically significant scholarly indexes, it offers multidisciplinary coverage of primary materials in the humanities, social sciences, engineering, history of science, law, economics, religion, psychology, government documents, visual arts, music, and the physical sciences.Through enhancement and implementation of dozens of historically significant scholarly indexes, it offers multidisciplinary coverage of primary materials in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Engineering, History of Science, Law, Economics, Religion, Psychology, Government Documents, Visual Arts, Music, and the Physical Sciences.
Catalog Permalink | http://primo.getty.edu/GRI:GETTY_ALMA61208229960001551
Includes Newspaper Indexes:
Latin American Newspapers | 1805 until 1922.
19th and 20th Century online access to more than 280 newspapers covering 20 countries in Latin America from Argentina to Venezuela. Created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries.
Searchable collection of over 280 historical Latin American newspapers 1805-1922, offering unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
Catalog Permalink | http://primo.getty.edu/GRI:GETTY_ALMA51178179930001551
Newspapers.com
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 599 million+ pages of historical newspapers from 17,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond.
Catalog Permalink | http://primo.getty.edu/GRI:GETTY_ALMA61207139410001551
ACCESS NOTES:
You must click click through the A-Z Database link directly to gain access.
Alternative Name(s) LexisNexis Academic
Available from 07/01/1985.
Contains over 10,000 international news sources covering news, business, and legal topics.
RetroNews | 1631-1950
The official news site of the Bibliothèque nationale de France, offers 400 titles of the French press published from 1631 to 1950 plus editorial contents highlighting press archives and advanced research tools.
Catalog Permalink | http://primo.getty.edu/GRI:GETTY_ALMA51207139440001551
U.S. Major Dailies | 1980 - current
Alternative Name(s) Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal
Provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Catalog Permalink | see individual titles