Skip to Main Content
site header image

Auction and Sales Catalog Research Guide

Microfilm / Microfiche

 

Art Sales Catalogues (multiple auction houses represented)

Based on Frits Lugt's 'Répertoire des catalogues de ventes publiques intéressant l'art ou la curiosité. Online version: Art Sales Catalogues Online (ASCO).

  • Pt. 1 Art sales catalogues, 1600-1825

  • Pt. 2 Art sales catalogues, 1826-1860

  • Pt. 3  Art sales catalogues, 1861-1880

  • Pt. 4 Art sales catalogues, 1881-1900

GRI General Collections L2: MULTIMEDIA - GUIDES Accession: 2621-560 [pt.1-4]

GRI General Collections L2: MICROFICHE 2621-560

 

Dutch Book Sales Catalogues (multiple auction houses represented)

  • 1264 microfiches

GRI General Collections L2: MULTIMEDIA - GUIDES Accession: 90-B31585

GRI General Collections L2: MICROFICHE 90-B31585

 

Knoedler Sales Catalogues (multiple auction houses represented)

  • American sales, May 18, 1835-June 16, 1970 -- Argentine sales, July 12, 13, 1945-Aug. 19-22, 1969 -- Austrian sales, Apr. 28, 1885-June 14-17, 1966 -- Belgian sales, July 21, 1819-Nov. 26, 1968 -- British sales. Christie's, Mar. 2, 1792-Dec. 18, 1970; [other houses] May 5, 6, 1748-May 3, 1966 -- Canadian sales, Nov. 4, 5, 1960-Nov. 14, 15, 1969 -- Danish sales, June 2-7, 1924-Apr. 14-15, 1970 -- Dutch sales, Apr. 16, 1816-Dec. 15-18, 1970 -- French sales, Mar. 2, 1774-Dec. 29, 1970 -- German sales, May 15-18, 1876-Dec. 10, 11, 1970 -- Hungarian sales, Feb. 26-28, 1934 -- Italian sales, Mar. 17-18, 1845-May 31-June 2, 1969 -- Swedish sales, Sept. 14-16, 1932-Nov. 4-7, 1970 -- Swiss sales, Oct. 20-25, 1919-Dec. 9, 1970.

  • 9743 microfiches

  • includes a substantial number of Christie's sales

GRI General Collections L2: MULTIMEDIA - GUIDES Accession: 91- B13049  v.1-v.22 + "manual"

GRI General Collections L2: MICROFICHE 91- B13049

 

Sotheby's Catalogues of Sales

  • pt. 1. 1734-1850 (71 reels) -- pt. 2. 1851-1900 (148 reels) -- pt. 3. 1901-1945 (155 reels) -- pt. 4. 1946-1970 (164 reels) -- pt. 5. 1971-1980 (73 reels) -- pt. 6. 1981-1990 (3868 microfiches)

GRI General Collections L2: MULTIMEDIA - GUIDES Accession: 88-B25724 prospectus & pts.1-6

GRI General Collections L2: MICROFILM 88-B25724  (prospectus) pt.1,(reel 1-77 & guide) pt.2, (reel 1-148 & guide) pt.3,(reel 1-155 & guide) pt.4,(reel 1-164 & guide) pt.5,(reel 1-73 & guide)

GRI General Collections L2: MICROFICHE 88-B25724 pt.6,(MFICHE)