A Guide to Latin American Special Collections at the GRI

Within Special Collections at the Getty Research Institute (GRI) is a rich selection of books, photographic albums, prints, correspondence, audiovisual material, and archives that represent the diverse histories–artistic, cultural, and social–of Latin America. The bulk of these materials comprise the GRI’s Latin American Collections, which spans roughly from the time of European colonization to the present-day. In addition, the Latin American Collections include many materials related to Pre-Columbian art history, specifically historical accounts, facsimiles of Mesoamerican codices, and archaeological explorations. The collections are divided into eight principal collection areas (listed below), which are defined in chronological and thematic terms, and includes a sizable representation of materials related to the art and national histories of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Mexico, and Peru. 

The eight collection areas are: 

• Indigenous Arts and Cultures of the Americas
• Colonial Narratives and Visions 
• 19th Century: Transitions and Building National Myths 
• Modernisms in Latin America, 1900-1969
• Contemporary Perspectives, 1970 to present-day
• Photographs and Photobooks
• Artist Books 
• Dealers of Latin American Art

This research guide aims to provide a general introduction to the GRI’s Latin American Collections and complementary materials found in other Special Collections areas. It is the result of a survey of the library catalog, finding aids, and curatorial records aimed at identifying all materials in Special Collections relevant to the diverse cultural histories of Latin America (see note on defining ‘Latin America’ below). Research specialist Jasmine Magaña conducted the survey, aided by research assistant Ariana Rizo, under the supervision of Idurre Alonso, curator of the Latin American Collections. While we made a concerted effort to comprehensively track and represent the GRI’s Special Collections holdings, it is possible that relevant materials eluded our search. This guide aims to enable archival research on Latin American topics at the GRI. It can also serve as an educational resource for those who may wish to teach from or study the GRI’s Latin American holdings. Whether the goal is in-person or virtual consultation, we hope that this guide invites exploration from disciplines such as art and architectural history, archaeology, visual studies, history, ethnic and cultural studies, religious studies, among others.

For the purposes of facilitating research and revealing connections across thematic and geographic areas, within each section materials are organized by region, subject-matter, and type (for example, Drawings & Prints, Accounts & Chronicles, Monographs, etc.). Research notes accompany each record describing its relevance, illustrative content, digitization status, and available translations at the GRI (if the document is in a language other than English). Many materials that are out of copyright are digitized and publicly accessible through the GRI’s library catalog. If a resource is not digitized at the time this guide is published, it may be in the future. Additionally, searches on the internet or on aggregator platforms such as the Getty Research Portal, the Internet Archive, or Hathi Trust, might yield results for a digital copy made available by another institution.

Two supplemental sections include information on Getty-based and affiliated projects and resources relevant to Latin American and Latinx art history and a browsable list of artists and notable contributors from Latin America that are represented in the Special Collections at the GRI.

The research guide will be launched in three phases between 2025 and 2026. The release timeline is as follows:

Spring 2025

     Colonial Narratives and Visions, 19^th Century: Transitions and Building National Myths

Summer 2025

     Latin American Modernisms, Photographs and Photobooks, Artist Books

Winter 2026

     Contemporary Histories and Perspectives, Indigenous Arts and Cultures of the Americas, Dealers of Latin American Art

This research guide is part of the ongoing activities of the Latin American and Latinx Art Initiative (LALAI).

Although we use “Latin America” to describe a specific aspect of the GRI Library’s collection, we do so with certain reservations, specifically due to the shifts in political, territorial, and discursive boundaries. Demonyms and demographics have changed over time as a result of independence, migration, and globalization. The term “Latin America” is commonly used to refer to the countries in the Western hemisphere where the official, or dominant, language derived from Latin. However, the term is most often used today in connection with countries where Spanish and Portuguese are largely spoken, to the exclusion of French-speaking countries. 

We acknowledge that this designation not only overlooks the historic and current presence of the French, British, and Dutch colonial empires in and around the Caribbean, it significantly downplays the continuity of Indigenous peoples’ histories and cultures that pre-date the arrival of Europeans to the Americas and persist to the present day. It also occludes the significant cultural legacy and physical presence of Hispanic people in countries where English and French are now official languages. Despite being a modern construct and an imperfect descriptor, “Latin America” is used in this guide as a term of convenience, as are modern country names, to ensure legibility in the context of contemporary academic and political discourse.

The three sections—Indigenous Arts and Cultures of the Americas, Colonial Narratives and Visions, and 19th Century— seek to address the complexity of dynamic interrelationships between peoples and cultures and shifting territorial boundaries by striving for accuracy, as much as is possible, in such areas as tribal names and geographic scope of a given resource. In addition, the sections also include materials that pertain to the non-Spanish speaking Caribbean Islands, Belize, Suriname, Guyana, and French Guiana.

The Getty Research Institute houses thousands of documents, images, and other research materials that date back to the 15th century. The catalog records and finding aids include information that has been compiled since the GRI was established in 1985. We acknowledge that some archival and bibliographic records may replicate some of the biased language and imprecise descriptions found in research materials or reflect outdated cataloging practice and analysis. We are committed to addressing these issues and are regularly reviewing and updating records accordingly. 

Please contact us at reference@getty.edu if you encounter harmful or offensive language or content in this research guide, catalog records, finding aids, digitized materials, or elsewhere on our library pages.
For more on the GRI’s commitment to anti-racist description, please refer to our Anti-Racist Statement.
 

The Library is open Monday to Friday, 9:30am to 5pm. Contact us with questions or to make an appointment in the Special Collections Reading Room by calling (310) 440-7390 or by emailing reference@getty.edu.