Skip to Main Content
site header image

A Guide to Latin American Special Collections at the GRI

An introduction to the research materials and collections at the Getty Research Institute related to the art and cultural histories of Latin America from the colonial period to the present-day.

[Farmers]. From Santa-Fe de Bogotá, 1863–1864. By Othon de Bourgoing (French, 1839–1908(?)). Getty Research Institute, 92-F267.

Drawings and Prints

This subsection consists of lithographs, watercolors, cartoons and caricatures, artist sketches, and collages. Materials are organized in four groups: Travel Albums, Types and Customs, Periodicals, and Other. The last group consists of cartoons related to France’s Panama Canal Scandal, a children’s board game, a small perspective theater, and an urban plan.

Please note that albums included in this section contain different mediums within them including, but not limited to, photographs. For all photography-specific materials, see: Photographs and Photobooks (expected Summer 2025).  

To return to the section overview, click here.

Album Martiniquais / par Hartmann ; lithographié par Eugène Cicéri. [1860]

  • Related to: The Caribbean, Martinique
  • 'Relevant Contributors: Eugène Cicéri, Hippolyte Hartmann
  • Not digitized

Álbum pintoresco de la isla de Cuba. [1850]

  • Related to: The Caribbean, Cuba
  • Relevant Contributors: Bernardo May, Pierre Toussaint Frédéric Mialhe
  • Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
  • Not digitized

Álbum pintoresco de la República Mexicana. [1850]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Relevant Contributors: Francisco Bastin, Pierre-Frédéric Lehnert, Urbano López
  • Not digitized

The American tour of Messrs. Brown, Jones and Robinson: being the history of what they saw, & did in the United States, Canada and Cuba / By Toby. [1872]

  • Related to: The Caribbean, Cuba, United States of America

Expédition dans les parties centrales de l'Amérique du Sud: de Rio de Janeiro à Lima, et de Lima au Para / exécutée par ordre du gouvernement français pendant les années 1843 à 1847, sous la direction de Francis de Castelnau. [1850]

  • Related to: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Paraguay, Peru
  • Relevant Contributors: François-Louis Laporte, Jean-Jacques Champin

[Mexico album]. [1864-1866]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Relevant Contributor: André-Toussaint Petitjean

Mexique, 1865. [1864-ca. 1867]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Relevant Contributors: François Aubert, Louis Falconnet

Panoramic views of Rio Janeiro and its surrounding scenery / lithographed by James Dickson; from paintings by the late Le Capelain ; the original sketches by Edwd. Nicolle., junr. esqre. [184-?]

  • Related to: Brazil
  • Relevant Contributors: Edward Nicolle, Jr., John Le Capelain 
  • Not digitized

Our artist in Cuba: fifty drawings on wood: leaves from the sketch-book of a traveler, during the winter of 1864-5 / by Geo. W. Carleton. [1865]

  • Related to: The Caribbean, Cuba
  • Relevant Contributor: George Washington Carleton

Picturesque illustrations of Buenos Ayres and Monte Video, consisting of twenty-four views : accompanied with descriptions of the scenery and of the costumes, manners, &c. of the inhabitants of those cities and their environs / by E.E. Vidal, Esq. [1820] 

  • Related to: Argentina, Uruguay
  • Relevant Contributor: Emeric Essex Vidal

Santa-Fe de Bogotá. [1863-1864]

  • Related to: Colombia
  • Relevant Contributor: Othon de Bourgoing
  • Not digitized

Skizzen zu dem Tagebuche von Adalbert Prinz von Preussen 1842-1843. [1843-1873?]

  • Related to: Brazil
  • Relevant Contributor: Prince Adalbert of Prussia
  • Not digitized

Twelve views in the interior of Guiana: from drawings executed by Mr. Charles Bentley, after sketches taken during the expedition carried on in the years 1835 to 1839 [1841]

  • Related to: Guyana
  • Relevant Contributors: Charles Bentley, Robert Hermann Schomburgk
  • Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
  • Not digitized

Voyages extraordinaires, voyage aux troix carbets, [188-]

  • Related to: French Guiana
  • Not digitized

Voyage pittoresque dans le Brésil / par Maurice Rugendas ; traduit de l'allemand par Mr. de Golbéry [1835]

  • Related to: Brazil
  • Relevant Contributors: Johann Moritz Rugendas, Marie Philippe Aimé de Golbéry
  • German edition published in 1986 (not digitized)

[13 lithographs] [185-?]

  • Related to: Argentina
  • Relevant Contributors: Carlos Morel, Gregorio Ibarra
  • Not digitized

[Album of watercolors] [1850s-1860s]

  • Related to: Peru
  • Relevant Contributor: Pancho Fierro

Album Pallière : Escenas americanas, reducción de cuadros, aquarelles y bosquejos. [1864]

  • Related to: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Uruguay
  • Relevant Contributor: Léon Pallière

Characters in Chile / Wood Taylor, Charles Chatworthy. [1820]

  • Related to: Chile, People, Costumes, Carlos Wood (Charles Chatworthy Wood Taylor)
  • Relevant Contributor: Carlos Wood
  • Not digitized

Costumes of America. [1852]

  • Related to: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay

[Costumes of Lima] [ca. 1860]

  • Related to: Peru
  • Not digitized

Géographie vivante, ou, Tableaux raisonnés et comparatifs des principaux habitants du globe, avec leur costume: des animaux divers qui s'y trouvent, et une exacte description de leurs mœurs, de leurs usages et habitudes / par Mme. H [1821]

  • Related to: Guyana, Mexico, Paraguay, United States of America
  • Section Relevant to Latin America: pp. 157–186
  • Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books

Lima costumes. [1852]

  • Related to: Peru
  • Relevant Contributors: Archibald Smith, Pancho Fierro
  • Not digitized

[Portraits of Inca rulers] [after 1825]

  • Related to: Bolivia, Peru

Recuerdos de Lima: álbum: tipos, trajes y costumbres / dibujados y publicados por A.A. Bonnaffé. [1857]

  • Related to: Peru
  • Relevant Contributor: A.A. Bonnaffé
  • Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of the Books

Sketches of Portuguese life, manners, costume, and character : illustrated by twenty coloured plates / by A.P.D.G. [1826]

  • Related to: Brazil

[Tipos of Peru] [mid-1800s]

  • Related to: Peru
  • Relevant Contributor: Pancho Fierro 
  • Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
  • Not digitized

Trages y costumbres de Buenos-Aires. [1833-1835]

  • Related to: Argentina
  • Relevant Contributor: César Hipólito Bacle
  • Not digitized

Vollständige Völkergallerie in getreuen Abbildungen aller Nationen mit ausführlicher Beschreibung derselben. [1830-1839?]

  • Related to: Argentina, Colombia, Mexico, Suriname, Peru, United States of America 
  • Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books

Anales del Museo de La Plata. Sección de historia Americana. [1890-1892]

  • Related to: Argentina
  • Illustrations: Landscapes and views, people

Annual report of the Bureau of Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution. [1881-1897]

  • Not digitized

Antonio Lópes de Santa Anna, benemérito de la patria, y general de division de los ejércitos nacionales, á sus compatriotas. [1865]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Relevant Contributor: Antonio López de Santa Anna
  • Not digitized

El museo americano: libro de todo el mundo. [1835-1836]

  • Related to: Argentina

El Perú ilustrado. [1887-1890]

  • Related to: Peru

El Mosquito. [1871?]

  • Related to: Argentina
  • Not digitized

New Orleans, Mexico and California. [1890]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Relevant Contributor: Raymond & Whitcomb Co. 

A tour through Mexico. [1885]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Relevant Contributor: Raymond & Whitcomb Co.

Carnet de chèques / par Caran d'Ache. [1893]

  • Related to: Panama
  • Relevant Contributor: Caran d’Ache (Emmanuel Poiré)

Cimientos del artista, dibujante y pintor : compendio de perspectiva lineal y aérea, sombras, espejos y refracción con las nociones necesarias de geometría / por Eugenio Landesio. [1866]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Relevant Contributor: Eugenio Landesio

Diorama de la prise de Puebla [1863]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Not digitized

Los insurgentes: juego histórico para niños / por Antonio García Cubas. [1891]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Relevant Contributor: Antonio García Cubas
  • Part of the Gutiérrez Collection

Les temps difficiles : (Panama) / par J.-L. Forain. [1893]

  • Related to: Panama
  • Relevant Contributor: Jean Louis Forain

Picheta, 15 grabados. [1979]

  • Related to: Mexico
  • Relevant Contributors: Emilio Vera Granados, Gabriel Vicente Gahona
  • Not digitized

Plan de projet pour l'établissement de la ville du Port Napoléon dans l'île St. Domingue, sur la presqu'île et baye de Samana / dressé par ordre du gen.al Ferrand commandant en chef l'armée de St. Domingue fesant fonction de cap.ne général par le l. colonel du g.ie Bron. [ca. 1806]

  • Related to: Dominican Republic
  • Not digitized