Detail of [Plan of the Strait of Magellan]. From Theodor de Bry, Americae Pars Undecimal (Oppenheim, 1619). Getty Research Institute, P840001
To return to the section overview, click here.
Tonatiúh and Electra Gutiérrez collection of maps and images of the Americas, 1523-1904.
The Tonatiúh and Electra Gutiérrez collection of maps and images of the Americas includes more than 350 historic maps of the Americas, with an emphasis on Mexico and Central America. The collection was assembled by Tonatiúh Gutiérrez and Electra López Mompradé de Gutiérrez who shared a lifelong interest in researching and promoting popular culture, folklore, iconography, history, and cartography of Mexico and the Americas. The collection also includes images of life, fauna, landscapes, historical events, cities, and portrait prints of political leaders.
The Gutiérrez’s also amassed an impressive collection of rare books relevant to the study of the early history of the Americas. Though some books in the Gutiérrez Collection are duplicate copies, alternate editions, or translations of other books found in the GRI Library’s General and Special Collections, many of the historical accounts and chronicles, biographies, and natural and political histories are the library’s sole copy. To browse the entire collection of books, follow the hyperlink Getty Library Catalog - Gutiérrez Collection, and select Books under Resource Type. Alternatively, search “Gutiérrez” in the research guide to browse titles held in Special Collections.
Relevant Contributors: Aaron Arrowsmith, Alexander Keith Johnston, Alexis Hubert Jaillot, Antonio García Cubas, Benito Chías y Carbó, Edward Stanford, Gilles Robert de Vaugondy, Giovanni Battista Nicolosi, Heinrich Kiepert, Hendrick Hondius, Henry Popple, Manuel Sobreviela, Philippe Vandermaelen, Tomás López de Vargas Machuca, Willem Janszoon Blaeu, William Lewis Herndon.
[Plan of the Strait of Magellan]. From Theodor de Bry, Americae Pars Undecimal (Oppenheim, 1619). Getty Research Institute, P840001