An account of the Abipones : an equestrian people of Paraguay / from the Latin of Martin Dobrizhoffer. [1822]
- Related: Paraguay
- Relevant Contributors: Martin Dobrizhoffer, Sara Coleridge
L'Amérique septentrionale et méridionale, ou, Description de cette grande partie du monde [1835]
- Related to: Argentina, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, the Caribbean, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, French Guiana, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Monsterrat, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Trinidad and Tobago, United States of America, Uruguay
- Illustrations: Landscapes and views, people
- Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
Andrew Grant's, Doctor's der Arzneikunde, Beschreibung von Brasilien : nebst dem, am 19. Februar 1810 zu Rio-de-Janeiro zwischen Sr. Britannischen Maj. und Sr. Königl. Hoheit, dem Prinz-Regenten von Portugal, abgeschlossenen Freundschafts-, Handels-, und Schifffahrts-Vertrage. [1814]
- Related to: Brazil
- Relevant Contributors: Andrew Grant, Vicente Navarro de Andrade
Brésil / par M. Ferdinand Denis. Colombie et Guyanes / par M.C. Famin. [1837]
- Related to: Brazil, Colombia
- Relevant Contributors: César Famin, Ferdinand Denis
- Illustrations: Landscapes and views, people
- Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
- Italian translation published in 1838
Las cartas americanas: parte primera: Cremona por Lorenzo Marini impresor regio, 1781 / traducción del italiano por el Dr. D. Agustín Pomposo Fernández de San Salvador [1821-1822]
- Related to: Brazil, Mexico, Peru
- Relevant Contributors: Agustín Pomposo Fernández, Gian Rinaldo Carli
- Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
Chili, Paraguay, Uruguay, Buenos-Ayres / par m. César Famin. Patagonie, Terre-du-Feu et archipel des Malouines / par m. Frédéric Lacroix. Îles diverses des trois océans, et regions circompolaires / par m. le commandeur Bory de Saint-Vincent et par m. Frédéric Lacroix. [1840]
- Related to: Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay
- Relevant Contributors: César Famin, Frédéric Lacroix, Jean-Baptiste Bory de Saint-Vincent
- Illustrations: Landscapes and views, people
Description of a view of the city of Lima and the surrounding country: now exhibiting at the Panorama, Leicester Square; painted by the proprietor, Robert Burford, from drawings taken Lieut. W. Smyth, R.N. in 1834. [1836]
- Related to: Peru
- Relevant Contributor: Robert Burford
Description of a view of the city of Mexico, and surrounding country: now exhibiting in the Panorama, Leicester-Square ; painted by the proprietors, J. and R. Burford, from drawings taken in the summer of 1823, brought to this country, by Mr. W. Bullock. [1826]
- Related to: Mexico
- Relevant Contributor: Robert Burford
- U.S. edition published in 1830 (does not include fold-out)
Description of a view of the city of St. Sebastian, and the Bay of Rio Janeiro : now exhibiting in the Panorama, Leicester-Square / painted by the proprietor, Robert Burford, from drawings taken in the year 1823. [1827]
- Related to: Brazil
- Relevant Contributor: Robert Burford
- Later edition published in 1828
Descrizione del viaggio a Rio de Ianeiro della flotta di Napoli / di Eugenio Rodriguez. [1844]
- Related to: Brazil
- Relevant Contributor: Eugenio Rodriguez
A general collection of the best and most interesting voyages and travels in all parts of the world, many of which are now first translated into English. Volume the fourteenth: digested on a new plan / by John Pinkerton. [1813]
- Related to: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru
- Relevant Contributors: Alonso de Ovalle, Charles Marie de la Condamine, Johan Nieuhof, John Pinkerton, Pierre Bouger
- Illustrations: Landscapes and views
- Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
A historical and descriptive narrative of twenty years' residence in South America: containing travels in Arauco, Chile, Peru, and Colombia : with an account of the revolution, its rise, progress, and rescue / by W.B. Stevenson. [1825]
- Related to: Chile, Colombia, Peru
- Relevant Contributor: William Bennet Stevenson
- Illustrations: People
Journal of a residence and travels in Colombia during the years 1823 and 1824 / by Charles Stuart Cochrane. [1825]
- Related to: Colombia
- Relevant Contributor: Charles Stuart Cochrane
Letters from Paraguay: describing the settlements of Montevideo an[d] Buenos Ayres : the presidencies of Rioja Minor, Nombre de Dios, St. Mary and St. John, &c. &c. : with the manners, customs, religious ceremonies, &c. of the inhabitants : written during a residence of seventeen months in that country / by John Constanse Davie, Esq. [1805]
- Related to: Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay
- Relevant Contributor: John Constanse Davie
Mexico as it was and as it is / by Brantz Mayer, secretary of the U.S. legation to that country in 1841 and 1842; with numerous illustrations on wood, engraved by Butler from drawings by the author. [1844]
- Related to: Mexico
- Relevant Contributor: Brantz Mayer
- Illustrations: Archaeology and antiquities, landscapes and views, people
Mexique et Guatemala / par M. de LaRenaudière. Pérou / par M. Lacroix. [1843]
- Related to: Bolivia, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru
- Relevant Contributors: Frédéric Lacroix, Philippe François de La Renaudière
- Illustrations: Archaeology and antiquities, architecture and urbanism, landscapes and views, people
Nachrichten von verschiedenen Ländern des Spanischen Amerika : aus eigenhändigen Aufsätzen einiger Missionare der Gesellschaft Jesu / herausgegeben von Christoph Gottlieb von Murr. [1809-1811]
- Related to: California, Chile, Mexico, Peru
- Relevant Contributors: Berhard Havestadt, Christoph Gottleib von Murr, Francis Bennon Ducrue
Narrative, of a five years' expedition, against the revolted negroes of Surinam, in Guiana, on the wild coast of South America, from the year 1772, to 1777 [1806]
- Related to: Guyana, Suriname
- Relevant Contributors: Francesco Bartolozzi, Inigo Barlow, John Gabriel Stedman, Thomas Condor, Thomas Holloway, William Blake
- Illustrations: Flora and fauna, landscapes and views, people
- Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
Narrative of voyages and excursions on the east coast and in the interior of Central America : describing a journey up the river San Juan, and passage across the lake of Nicaragua to the city of Leon ; pointing out the advantages of a direct commercial intercourse with the natives / by Orlando W. Roberts ; with notes and observations by Edward Irving. [1827]
- Related to: Belize, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama
- Relevant Contributor: Orlando W. Roberts
Notes on Rio de Janeiro, and the southern parts of Brazil : taken during a residence of ten years in that country, from 1808 to 1818 / by John Luccock. [1820]
- Related to: Brazil
- Relevant Contributor: John Luccock
A pictorial view of California : including a description of the Panama and Nicaragua routes, with information and advice interesting to all, particularly those who intend to visit the golden region / by a returned Californian. [1853]
- Related to: California, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama
- Relevant Contributor: John M. Letts
- Illustrations: Architecture and urbanism, landscapes and views
Provinces-Unies du Rio de La Plata : (Buénos-Ayres, Paraguay, Uruguay) / par M. César Famin. [183-?]
- Related to: Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay
- Relevant Contributor: César Famin
- Illustrations: Architecture and urbanism, landscapes and views, people
The rambler in Mexico: MDCCCXXXIV / by Charles Joseph Latrobe. [1836]
- Related to: Mexico
- Relevant Contributor: Charles La Trobe
Reise in Chile, Peru, und auf dem Amazonenstrome während der Jahre 1827-1832 / von Eduard Poeppig, Professor an der Universität zu Leipzig. [1835-1836]
- Related to: Brazil, Chile, Peru
- Relevant Contributor: Eduard Friedrich Poeppig
- Illustrations (in vol. 3): Landscapes and views
Reise nach Brasilien in den Jahren 1815 bis 1817 / von Maximilian, Prinz zu Wied-Neuwied ; mit zwei und zwanzig Kupfern, neunzehn Vignetten und drei Karten. [1820-1821]
- Related to: Brazil
- Relevant Contributor: Prince Maximilian of Wied-Neuwied
- Illustrations: Landscapes and views, people
- Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
- English translation published in 1820
Six months in the West Indies, in 1825. [1826]
- Related to: Anguilla, Antigua, Barbados, the Caribbean, Dominica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Trinidad and Tobago
- Relevant Contributor: Henry Nelson Coleridge
Six months' residence and travels in Mexico / by W. Bullock, F.L.S., proprietor of the late London Museum. [1824]
- Related to: Mexico
- Relevant Contributor: William Bullock
- Illustrations: Landscapes and views, people
- Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
- Second edition published in 1825
A tour through the island of Jamaica: from the western to the eastern end, in the year 1823 / by Cynric R. Williams. [1826]
- Related to: The Caribbean, Jamaica
- Relevant Contributor: Cynric R. Williams
- Illustrations: Landscapes and views, people
Travels from Buenos Ayres, by Potosi, to Lima : with notes by the translator, containing topographical descriptions of the Spanish possessions in South America, drawn from the last and best authorities / by Anthony Zachariah Helms. [1807]
- Related to: Argentina, Bolivia, Peru
- Relevant Contributor: Anton Zacharias Helms
Travels in Brazil / by Henry Koster ; in two volumes. [1817]
- Related to: Brazil
- Relevant Contributor: Henry Koster
- Illustrations: Landscapes and views, people
Travels in North America during the years 1834, 1835 & 1836 : including a summer residence with the Pawnee Tribe of Indians and a visit to Cuba and the Azore Islands / by Charles Augustus Murray. [1839]
- Related to: The Caribbean, Cuba, United States of America
- Relevant Contributor: Charles Augustus Murray
- Sections Relevant to Latin America: vol. 2, ch. X and XI
Travels in parts of South America, during the years 1801, 1802, 1803 & 1804 : containing a description of the captain-generalship of Carraccas, with an account of the laws, commerce, and natural productions of that country : as also a view of the customs and manners of the Spaniards and native Indians / by F. Depons. [1806]
- Related to: Venezuela
- Relevant Contributor: François Joseph de Pons
Travels in South America, during the years, 1819-20-21 : containing an account of the present state of Brazil, Buenos Ayres, and Chile / by Alexander Caldcleugh, Esq. ; two volumes. [1825]
- Related to: Chile, Colombia, Peru
- Relevant Contributors: Alexander Caldcleugh, Edward Francis Finden, William Waldegrave
- Illustrations: Landscapes and views, people
Travels in various parts of Peru: including a year's residence in Potosi / by Edmond Temple, Knight of the Royal and Distinguished Order of Charles III [1830]
- Related to: Argentina, Bolivia
- Relevant Contributor: Edmund Temple
- Second copy in the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
Travels into Chile, over the Andes, in the years 1820 and 1821 : with some sketches of the productions and agriculture, mines and metallurgy, inhabitants, history, and other features, of America; particularly of Chile, and Arauco / by Peter Schmidtmeyer ; illustrated with thirty plates, plans of Santiago, the capital of Chile, and of the post road across the Pampas, itineraries, &c. [1824]
- Related to: Argentina, Chile, Paraguay
- Relevant Contributor: Peter Schmidtmeyer
- Illustrations: Architecture and urbanism, landscapes and views, people
Travels through the interior provinces of Columbia / by Colonel J.P. Hamilton [1827]
- Related to: Colombia
- Relevant Contributors: Edward Francis Finden, John Potter Hamilton
- Part of the Gutiérrez Collection of Books
Voyage aux iles de Trinidad, de Tabago, de la Marguerite, et dans diverses parties de Vénézuéla, dans l'Amerique Méridionale / par J.J. Dauxion Lavaysse. [1813]
- Related to: The Caribbean, Dominican Republic, Guyana, Haiti, Martinique, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela
- Relevant Contributor: Jean J. Dauxion Lavaysse
- English translation published in 1820
Voyages dans l'intérieur du Brésil : particulièrement dans les districts de l'or et du diamant, faits avec l'autorisation du Prince Régent de Portugal, en 1809 et 1810 ; contenant aussi Un voyage au Rio-de-la-Plata, et un essai historique sur la révolution de Buenos-Ayres / par Jean Mawe ; traduits de l'anglais par J.-B.-B. Eyriès. [1816]
- Related to: Argentina, Brazil
- Relevant Contributors: Jean-Baptiste Benoit Eyriès, John Mawe
A voyage of discovery to the North Pacific Ocean, and round the world : in which the coast of north-west America has been carefully examined and accurately surveyed : undertaken by His Majesty's command, principally with a view to ascertain the existence of any navigable communication between the North Pacific and North Atlantic Oceans, and performed in the years 1790, 1791, 1792, 1793, 1794 and 1795, in the Discovery sloop of war, and armed tender Chatham, under the command of Captain George Vancouver. [1801]
- Relevant Contributors: Benjamin Thomas Pouncy, George Vancouver, James Fittler, James Heath, John Landseer, Samuel John Neele, William Alexander
- Sections Relevant to Latin America: vol. 4, ch. VIII and IX; vol. 6, for descriptions of islands along the Pacific coast of the Americas
A voyage of discovery to the strait of Magellan : with an account of the manners and customs of the inhabitants and of the natural productions of Patagonia / undertaken, by order of the King of Spain, by Admiral Don A. de Cordova ; translated from the Spanish. [1820?]
- Related to: Argentina, Chile
- Relevant Contributors: Alejandro Blemonte, Dionisio Alcalá Galiano, José de Vargas Ponce, Samuel John Neele
- German translation published in 1820
Voyage to Buenos Ayres: performed in the years 1817 and 1818, by order of the American government / by H.M. Brackenridge, Esq., secretary to the mission.. [1820]
- Related to: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Uruguay, Venezuela
- Relevant Contributor: Henry Marie Brackenridge
Vues des Cordillères, et monuments des peuples indigènes de l'Amérique / par Al. de Humboldt. [1820]
- Related to: Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela
- Relevant Contributors: Alexander von Humboldt, Louis Bouquet, Wilhelm Friedrich Gmelin
- Illustrations: Archaeology and antiquities, landscapes and views, people
- English translation published in 1814
Voyage pittoresque et historique au Brésil, ou, Séjour d'un artiste français au Brésil, depuis 1816 jusqu'en 1831 inclusivement, epoque de l'avénement et de l'abdication de S.M.D. Pedro 1er, fondateur de l'Empire brésilien / par J.B. Debret. [1965]
- Related to: Brazil
- Relevant Contributor: Jean-Baptiste Debret
- Not digitized
